woman calculating cost of uncontested divorce in Georgia

The Cost of Uncontested Divorce in Georgia

Most uncontested divorces filed in Georgia cost between $300 and $5,000. Depending on the county where you reside, you will also need to pay a court filing fee of around $230.

How Much Does Uncontested Divorce Cost in Georgia?

The cost of uncontested divorce in Georgia will vary depending on the county where you file and the approach you take:

Approach Cost
Finding documents and filing yourself
Court fees of $200-230
Ordering the paperwork and filing yourself
Service fee of $99 and court fees
Hiring a lawyer
$4,000 - $6,000

Why Choose Uncontested Divorce?

    1. You may decide whether to hire a lawyer.

If you do not require outside help to reach an agreement with your spouse, there will be no need to spend money on attorneys and services of other professionals. The only expenses you will be expected to cover are court fees.

    1. It’s cheaper and simpler

Getting a divorce is a hard thing for any couple, as they need to face a lot of emotional and financial struggles. However, sometimes it is better to put an end to the relationship that doesn’t work anymore and start a new life separately rather than be unhappy together. Mutual divorce, i.e., an uncontested one, is a way to do it quickly and without incurring huge expenses.

How Do I Know if My Divorce is Uncontested?

To qualify for mutual, uncontested divorce, you and your spouse need to reach an agreement on:

    • Property and debt division.

If you have acquired some property or incurred debt during your marriage (or even before that), you will have to discuss its fair division. Georgia laws does not require spouses to divide all their assets equally and you are free to decide who gets what.

    • Alimony (or spousal support).

Sometimes, one of the spouses might require temporary financial support to get back on their feet after a divorce. If this is your case, you have to discuss how much and how long alimony will be paid for. Note that long-term spousal support is usually granted when the marriage was a long-term one and might be hard to obtain if you have not been together for more than a decade, for instance.

    • Custody.

If your and your spouse’s kids are minors, you will have to determine who children will live with (physical custody) and who will make decisions for them (legal custody). You may share either and develop a Parenting Plan where you arrange with whom and how much time your child will spend.

    • Child support.

A non-custodial parent or the one with the higher income in case the custody is shared will likely have to pay child support to the other one. The amount should be calculated based on the state guidelines and be no less than prescribed by law.

Get Started Now

Create a free account to check your eligibility for divorce. Preparing legal forms is never easy, but we can help you on every step of the process.

Factors That Influence the Cost of an Uncontested Divorce

A no-fault divorce in Georgia can be both cheap and simple if you consider all potential expenses. The factors that will influence the price are:

    • Whether you represent yourself or hire a lawyer.

Even in uncontested cases, you will end up paying around $,4,000-6,000 in lawyer’s fees. Luckily, you can avoid working with an attorney. This, however, means that you will have to complete the paperwork and file it on your own or get your forms online along with the filing instructions for a small fee of $99.

    • Whether or not you have children.

This will only influence the price if you hire a lawyer, as they will have to deal with more paperwork. Additionally, it will affect the costs if you and your spouse hire a mediator to settle the child-related disputes. If you deal with everything yourself or get help online, there will be no additional expenses.

    • Whether you hire certain professionals.

You may require some third-party services depending on your financial and marital situations. For example, it can be a forensic accountant, a real estate appraiser, or a financial consultant. If a lot of money is at stake, it is best that you get professional opinion on the asset value and fair division.

court fees for filing a divorce

Court Fees for Filing a Divorce in Georgia

When you file for divorce in Georgia, a clerk will ask you to pay the filing fee. Court fees in Georgia vary across the state, and are county-specific as you can see from the example below.

Fulton County:

  • Filing fee – $213.50;
  • Service of Process by the Sheriff – $50;
  • Certified Copies – $2.50 for the certification, $0.50 for page.

Gwinnett County:

  • Filing fee – $204;
  • Service of Process by the Sheriff – $50;
  • Certified Copies – $2.50 for the certification, $0.50 for page.

Cobb County:

  • Filing fee – $218.50;
  • Service of Process by the Sheriff – $50;
  • Certified Copies – $2 for the certification, $0.50 for page.

If you live in other county, you can check the prices on the website of your local Superior Court.