Online Divorce in Georgia
Get court-approved legal forms and file for divorce in Georgia without a lawyer for only $139!
How to Get Uncontested Divorce in Georgia Online?
Under Georgia divorce laws, spouses who decide to end their marriage can file for either a contested or an uncontested divorce:
Overall, uncontested divorces are more simple, cheap, and fast, which is why a lot of couples prefer reaching an agreement before they file. If you are having troubles resolving certain issues with your spouse, consider mediation to end your marriage amicably as well as save time and money.
When getting a marriage dissolution, one of the first things you need to think about is what kind of forms and documents you’ll need and where to get them from. As each marriage dissolution case is unique, every couple needs a different set of documents, and it might be hard to understand which ones are suitable for you. Moreover, filling them out yourself is often hard when you have no legal knowledge as you will likely have to look up a lot of terms.
Why Choose Us?
How to File for Divorce
The Petitioner files the Complaint for Divorce and pays court filing fees at the court clerk’s office. After that, the copies of the paperwork that was filed has to be served to the other spouse. Once the Respondent signs and submits the Acknowledgement of Service, spouses can ask for a hearing date to be set, attend the hearing, and get their divorce finalized.
Either one or both spouses have to live in GA for at least 6 months before they are legally allowed to file with local courts. It is important to note that the filing process should be initiated in the county where the Respondent resides, unless they live out of state.
Under state laws, the couple who is willing to get a divorce in Georgia should wait for it to be granted by court for at least 31 days after the Respondent files the Acknowledgement form. However, on average, it might take a few months to finalize the marriage dissolution.
What is Included
Georgia Divorce Forms
Any marriage dissolution starts with finding and filling out divorce documents. Legal forms do not only vary from state to state, but also from county to county. Moreover, spouses who have minor children might need a slightly different set of divorce forms in Georgia than those who have no kids. Therefore, when choosing papers for your case, you need to consider your unique situation. Nevertheless, some forms are more commonly used then others. These are:
When filling out divorce forms in Georgia, our team carefully considers every detail of your marriage dissolution case to make sure you are provided with all the paperwork required for filing. Therefore, when ordering from us, you can be sure that you will be ready to proceed with the divorce process confidently.
Can You Divorce in Georgia Without a Lawyer?
Although a lawyer is the person who can definitely help you deal with the divorce paperwork and finalize your marriage dissolution, it takes time to schedule the appointments and a lot of money to pay for such services. In fact, in Georgia, legal aid will cost you no less than $9000. While a few decades ago this was a go-to option for getting the necessary divorce forms, it is no longer the case. Currently, online services are available to every couple opting for uncontested marriage dissolution. Moreover, they are a lot cheaper than any lawyers! You will literally save thousands of dollars by using our company.
If you and your ex are in full agreement, you simply need to fill out the divorce forms accordingly, citing “irretrievable breakdown” as the reason you would like to end your marriage. After that, you need to file for an uncontested divorce with the court of the county where your spouse meets the residency requirements. If you live in different states, you may file in the county of your residence. When the clerk makes sure that your paperwork is in order, and you pay a filing fee, you will get the stamped copies and your case will be assigned a case number.
What Information Do You Need to Get Georgia Divorce Papers Online?
In case you have decided to get and/or file divorce papers in Georgia online, it is necessary to have this information at hand as you will be required to provide it:
Keep in mind that you might have to provide additional details depending on your case. The more information you have at hand when ordering paperwork for Georgia divorce online, the faster you will get through any questionnaire.
What to Do After Filing for Divorce in Georgia Without a Lawyer?
If you managed to file for divorce in GA without a lawyer successfully, the next steps would be:
- Providing your ex with copies of the paperwork that was submitted to the court or, in other words, “serving” your spouse. You can mail the documents along with the Acknowledgement form, hire a process server, or ask a sheriff to deliver the paperwork to your ex for an additional fee.
- Waiting for a spouse to submit the Acknowledgement form with the court. After you serve them, they will have 31 days to do it.
- Getting a hearing date. When all the necessary paperwork has been submitted, you can ask a clerk to schedule a hearing for your case. Both you and your spouse will have to attend it to get your marriage dissolution finalized.
How to Complete a Do It Yourself Divorce in Georgia?
Getting a Divorce in Georgia With a Child
Commonly Asked Questions
Yes, you can. Under Georgia family law, if spouses are willing to resolve their disputes regarding property distribution, childcare, and other divorce-related aspects amicably, they can file for an uncontested marriage dissolution and hiring a lawyer will not be necessary in the case.
Here is how a divorce in Georgia usually goes:
- One spouse (the Petitioner) completes and signs divorce forms and files them at a court clerk’s office.
- The Petitioner serves divorce papers on another spouse (the Respondent).
- The Respondent signs the necessary paperwork.
- After the Acknowledgement of Service along with other documents are filed with the court and the waiting period is over, the final hearing is appointed and the divorce is finalized.
In order to file for divorce in Georgia, you should file the paperwork with the court of a county where your spouse resides.
Any divorce in Georgia starts with filing a Complaint for divorce with Summons. If there are children involved, the couple also completes Domestic Relations Financial Affidavit for both spouses and the forms which establish the childcare-related aspects, parenting plan and visitation, and others if needed.
The filing fee for a divorce in a state of Georgia is about $220. Please note that it doesn’t involve costs of copies, mediation, and other divorce-related expenses. If the couple hires a lawyer or uses paid legal advice, the amount of money spent for divorce could reach around $10000.
The minimal waiting period for couples is 30 days for divorce to be granted by court. If you want to get a quick divorce in Georgia, filing for an uncontested one would be in your best interests, as in this case, it will not take you more than a month or a few to finalize it. Filing for a contested divorce, you might have to wait for months or years depending on how complex your case is.
In order to get a divorce in Georgia, one or both spouses have to be state residents for at least 6 months.